The Third Judicial Circuit of Illinois is one of 23 circuits in which the legislature has divided the court system for administrative purposes. Each circuit is made up of 1 to 12 counties, depending upon county population. The Third Circuit is composed of Madison County and Bond County. Although the court system in both counties is administered generally by the Chief Judge of the Circuit, the Circuit Court in each county functions separately.

The Circuit Court in Madison County is staffed by eight Circuit Judges and twelve Associate Circuit Judges.  The Circuit Court in Bond County is staffed by the Resident Circuit Judge in that county and an Associate Circuit Judge.

The Chief Judge’s office in Madison County is also staffed by bailiffs, judicial assistants, a law clerk, secretaries, court reporters, and administrative assistants, including a Trial Court Administrator.

The Court also relies on the Circuit Clerk’s office for support in filing, recording, storing, providing access to and overall management of court records.