Madison County MS4 Program

Municipal Separate Storm Sewer System Program

The Madison County MS4 Co-Permittee Program is a partnership consisting of Madison County and the twenty-six (26) municipalities and townships in the “urbanized” area of the County.  MS4, or Municipal Separate Storm Sewer System, is mandated by the U.S. EPA through the Clean Water Act.  The program requires local jurisdictions to adopt practices and enforce regulations involving the following minimum control measures:

1) Public Education & Outreach
2) Public Participation/Involvement
3) Illicit Discharge Detection and Elimination
4) Construction Site Runoff Control
5) Post-Construction Runoff Control
6) Pollution Prevention/Good Housekeeping

Madison County’s role in coordinating the MS4 program is to provide technical support and guidance to the Co-Permittee group.  The Stormwater Staff organizes a quarterly training meeting, assists in coordinating MS4 related activities, conduct periodic audits and annual reports for each jurisdiction in the Group.  For more information about the purpose of the program and its requirements, please visit the EPA’s MS4 web page -
MS4 Link.

20220827_101739 - Copy Storm Drain Labeling Stencils

The following are the “5-Year Notice of Intent” and the “Annual Report” for the Madison County MS4 Program:

General NPDES Permit No. ILR40 Notice of Intent (NOI)     County Annual Reports 
MS4 2021-2026 2021-2026 2022-2023
MS4 2016-2021 2021-2026 (previous) 2021-2022

Quarterly Meeting 6-21-2023 
Quarterly Meeting 6-21-2023 Audio

Madison County 2021-2022 MS4 Member Annual Reports

MS4 Co-Permittee Group 2023 Meeting Schedule

Contact Information:

Stormwater Coordinator
157 N. Main Street, Suite 254
Edwardsville, IL. 62025