B&Z Committee

The Building & Zoning Committee is the official land use committee for Madison County and is responsible for reviewing all zoning petitions and subdivision plats. The committee also reviews grant applications, contracts, and purchase requests for the Building & Zoning Department and provides general guidance to the Department Administrator regarding departmental activities.

The B&Z Committee is comprised of 8 County Board members who are appointed by the County Board Chairman. The following members currently serve on the B&Z Committee:

Mick Madison, Chairman
Terry Eaker
John Janek
Matthew King
Ryan Kneedler
Frank Dickerson
Nick Petrillo
Bobby Ross

After the B&Z Committee reviews evidence and findings provided by the Zoning Board of Appeals, they forward their recommendation on zoning petitions to the County Board. B&Z Committee meetings are held on the first Tuesday of each month. Please note that meetings may be cancelled if there is no new business on the agenda. 

A schedule of upcoming Committee meetings can be found on the County Calendar or call the Department at 618-296-4468 for additional information. Click here to view meeting agendas and approved meeting minutes.

2023 Meeting Schedule