INSTRUCTIONS FOR FILING REQUEST TO SEAL CRIMINAL RECORDS OR

REQUEST TO EXPUNGE & IMPOUND CRIMINAL RECORDS

NOTE: The following are general guidelines for filing your petition. Local procedures may be slightly different and should be followed. Also, if you plan on filing by mail, you should contact the relevant Circuit Clerk's office and inquire as to their local procedures for doing so.

Deliver to the Circuit Court Clerk a certified check, personal check or money order made payable to the Circuit Clerk or cash in the amount of \$60.00 (per case number) for an expungement or for sealing. The fees owed to the Circuit Clerk may be paid by credit card at

https://www.courtmoney.com/payments/ or by calling 1-800-352-9870.

Form ID	Case Type for Expungement:
138502	Felony
138502	Traffic / Misdemeanor

There is a State Police fee of \$60.00 that can be paid by personal check or money order made payable to the Illinois State Police. We also require a check or money order made payable to the Circuit Clerk in the amount of \$4.00 for a certified copy of the order to be sent to the State Police. **The above fees are per document filed not per case**. If the petition is denied your fee to the State Police and your certified copy fee will be returned to you.

If no charges have been filed and you wish to expunge or seal your arrest record the clerk's office will file your petition as a new Misc. Remedies case and it will be filed in the Civil Division. The filing fee for the MR case is \$314.00. You will need to provide the Circuit Clerk's office the original plus 6 copies of the Petition to Expunge or Seal.

For customer information on how to file an Expungement, please contact the Illinois State Police Appellate Defenders Office at 866-787-1776 or email expungement@osad.state.il.us.